9 CFR 424.21 and 424.22
Ingoing nitrite
Parts per million of sodium nitrite going into the meat, from the mass of cure mixture, its stated nitrite content and the green weight, checked against the limit for the product class.
This is the calculation the regulation is written around. The chart in 9 CFR 424.21(c) states its limits as a weight of curing salt against a weight of meat, and 9 CFR 424.22(b) states the bacon limits directly in parts per million on the skin-free green weight. Both are ingoing figures: measured against the meat as it goes into the cure, not against the finished product.
The nitrite content of the cure mixture is an input rather than an assumption. This site does not hard-code a figure for it, because 9 CFR 424.21(c) requires that the specific nitrite content of a supply be known and clearly marked on it. Read the container.
The limits this checks against
| Product class | ppm | Kind | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chopped or comminuted meat, meat byproduct or poultry | 156.25 | Maximum | 9 CFR 424.21(c), curing agents |
| Dry cure applied to whole muscle | 625.00 | Maximum | 9 CFR 424.21(c), curing agents |
| Bacon, injected or massaged | 120.00 | Prescribed | 9 CFR 424.22(b)(1) |
| Bacon, immersion cured | 120.00 | Maximum | 9 CFR 424.22(b)(2) |
| Bacon, made with dry curing materials | 200.00 | Maximum | 9 CFR 424.22(b)(3) |
| Finished product, all classes | 200 | Maximum | 9 CFR 424.21(c) |
How the two derived figures were obtained
Chopped or comminuted meat, meat byproduct or poultry
156.25 ppm
The chart permits 1/4 oz of sodium or potassium nitrite to 100 lb of chopped meat. 0.25 oz = 7.0873808 g; 100 lb = 45359.237 g; 7.0873808 / 45359.237 = 1.5625e-4, which is 156.25 ppm. Both conversions are exact by definition, so this figure is exact.
9 CFR 424.21(c), curing agents
Dry cure applied to whole muscle
625.00 ppm
The chart permits 1 oz of sodium or potassium nitrite to 100 lb of meat in a dry cure. 1 oz = 28.349523125 g; 100 lb = 45359.237 g; 28.349523125 / 45359.237 = 6.25e-4, which is 625 ppm.
The same chart entry caps the FINISHED product at 200 ppm of nitrite calculated as sodium nitrite. A dry cure may go on at up to 625 ppm because most of it is never absorbed and because the product loses weight; the finished-product cap still applies.
9 CFR 424.21(c), curing agents
The figure this site will not give you
9 CFR 424.21(c) also permits 2 lb of nitrite to 100 gallons of pickle at a 10 percent pump level. This site does not convert that into ppm. Doing so requires the density of the pickle, which the regulation does not state and which varies with how much salt and sugar are in it. The commonly quoted answer of 200 ppm falls out only if you assume 100 gallons of pickle weighs exactly 1,000 lb. That assumption may be reasonable; it is not in the regulation, and this site does not present assumptions as derivations.
Calculate
Read this off the container. 9 CFR 424.21(c) requires that the specific nitrite content of a supply be known and clearly marked.
9 CFR 424.21(c), curing agents
Ingoing sodium nitrite
156.3 ppmWorking
nitrite mass = cure mass x nitrite fraction
= 2.50 g x 6.2500 / 100
= 0.156250 g
ingoing ppm = nitrite mass / meat mass x 1,000,000
= 0.156250 / 1,000.0 x 1e6
= 156.25 ppm
limit = 156.25 ppm (9 CFR 424.21(c), curing agents)
cure at limit = 2.500 g for 1,000.0 g of meatWithin the 156.25 ppm maximum in 9 CFR 424.21(c), curing agents.
Separately, 9 CFR 424.21(c) caps the finished product at 200 ppm of nitrite calculated as sodium nitrite. That is a different measurement, taken on a different weight, and this calculator does not predict it: how much nitrite survives depends on the cure, the pH, the reductants present and how long the product is held.
Worked example
2.5 g of a cure mixture stated at 6.25 percent sodium nitrite, applied to 1,000 g of meat.
nitrite mass = 2.50 g x 6.25 / 100 = 0.156250 g
ingoing ppm = 0.156250 / 1,000 x 1,000,000
= 156.25 ppm
against the comminuted maximum of 156.25 ppm: withinPotassium nitrite equivalents
| Sodium nitrite, ppm | Potassium nitrite, ppm | Citation |
|---|---|---|
| 120 | 148 | 9 CFR 424.22(b)(1) |
| 100 | 123 | 9 CFR 424.22(b)(1)(ii)(A) |
| 200 | 246 | 9 CFR 424.22(b)(3) |
Source: Electronic Code of Federal Regulations, Title 9, parts 424 and 319, as in force on 1 January 2026. Retrieved 4 September 2026.
What this does not tell you
- The finished-product cap of 200 ppm in 9 CFR 424.21(c) is a different measurement on a different weight. This calculation does not predict it.
- The chart also permits 2 lb of nitrite to 100 gallons of pickle at a 10 percent pump level. That figure is not converted here, because converting it requires the density of the pickle, which the regulation does not state.
Related: Equilibrium curing, Clostridium botulinum.